Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for a country, while some think it is bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For a long time, sports have provided important events around the world. While a faction declares that holding an international sports meeting results in drawbacks for the hosting country, I argue that they are relevant, considering their impacts on the local economy. On the one hand, it must be highlighted that international sports events are demanding, and have a low impact on citizens' daily lives. This is because, these venues usually require public funding to be constructed and for maintenance, which could be invested to solve current social issues. For instance, Athens' government is still paying for the loans to develop the 2000 Olympic Games, while the Greek society has been facing the effects of economic recession since then. Additionally, some sports facilities are temporary and are disassembled after the event period, resulting in no legacy to the host city. This happened with the Rio 2016 Olympic Games' handball venue, which should be transformed into four schools after its use, but is still dismounted in a parking lot. On the other hand, these events promote internationally the host city, leading to a local economic increase during the games. The reason for this is that meetings attract an enormous quantity of tourists, and with them, considerable money is spent on local commerce. To illustrate, the Formula 1 race is the most profitable weekend for Sao Paulo's economy during the year. Furthermore, the host cities become well-known worldwide, stimulating tourism events when the event is not ongoing. To mention Winbledom is a top sightseen point in England, due to the famous tennis contest. To summarize, despite the drawbacks related to highly demanded investments, I wholeheartedly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, because of the economic impact this kind of event brings to the local economy.