Some people believe that the best way to build a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences between the richest and poorest members. To what extent do you agree or not disagree.

As technology advances at an ever-increasing speed, there is a rising concern about whether the rich take more advantage of the technological revolution and play an unfair game to accumulate a substantial amount of property. Some crowds insist that we should try to eliminate the gap between the rich and the poor, as the more even the distribution of wealth we have, the happier society will be. I totally disagree with this view for the following reasons. First of all, the accumulation of wealth is nothing but a relatively fair game, where the hard-working, intelligent group is rewarded with more fortunes and the “feckless” group is punished with economic struggles. In most circumstances, rich people make their fortune by devoting themselves to their beloved careers, and they contribute to society more significantly by paying higher taxes. The high tax rate already plays a critical role in ensuring appropriate financial support from these billionaires to benefit society. Most importantly, money itself represents an efficient reward system and encourages people to work hard and be smart. If we choose not to reward people ’s hard work and enthusiasm materially, how can we expect the next wave of technological advances? Furthermore, if we allow the poor group to have access to additional financial aid, it is very likely that all of us will soon be lazy, as we expect to be dependent on the rich and the government to feed us. Secondly, there are other effective strategies to enhance people ’s satisfaction and happiness, other than directly taking money from the rich and giving it to the poor. The government can set up more public services in order to cover people ’s various needs. For example, more adult schools, children’s daycares, and nursing homes can significantly benefit people of different ages. In my opinion, providing the poor with equal access to education and opportunities will bring more long-term benefits to help people out of difficult financial situations. To sum up, narrowing the gap between the rich and the poor can discourage people from working hard and achieving their dreams. Nevertheless, it cannot ensure a happier, more harmonious society. What really matters is to improve the well-being of our people instead of simply thinking about how to decrease the gap.