In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. •What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? •* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is 'to play truant from school.'

In the contemporary era, the number of children who pretend to go to school but instead go somewhere else has increased. The question raised here is what are the causes and effects of this phenomenon. Some believe that unpractical and non-interesting school can be the possible causes which may lead to inability in communication and social skills. The first thing to mention regarding to causes of truancy might be the fact that school is often an unpractical environment to learn skills and the knowledge that you can use afterwards to find a job. Over time, people recognize school doesn't consider their needs for working or building their own business as well as basic skills of life. For instance, there are only a few numbers of the population who can claim they learned how to do household chores or as well as do some bank tasks. Therefore, children decide to learn more practical skills or even set up their own businesses and work so that they can make money out of it. Nowadays, there are a number of students who have an online shop and earn considerable money monthly. The second contributing reason why offspring skip school could be that the school environment is not safe and enjoyable for everyone. As much as the variety of students rises, the conflicts between children go up too. For instance, for those who have a physical inability school memories which contain lots of bullying and low-level self-confidence due to the comparison with other children may not be the best experience of their lives. Regarding the effects of this phenomenon (children who skip school), making friends and building social skills can be very important items to mention. Throughout academic history, schools have always been the place where children start to understand the meaning of friendship and care for each other. obviously, being surrounded by those who are the same age as you and it is possible for you to see them on a daily basis as well as you can do some activities together can lead to building friendships and knowing the people with whom you have the same interests. Therefore, losing this opportunity may be the reason why these children have weaker friendships. It's also worth mentioning that schools are usually the first place the children can actually communicate and learn social etiquette and they practice it nonstop until twelve years. Thus, for people who miss out on this environment is usually harder to interact with the community. To sum up, although schools may not always be the best place to educate the skills life actually needs and may also be a waste of time while earning money can be possible at that age. Instead, it serves us in many ways. For instance, it is not wrong to say, we owe our friendship and ability to socialize to school.