Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The leisure industry has prospered since ordinary people acquired more leisure time and its form also altered since the advent of social media networks. This sector nowadays profoundly fascinates the public, especially the young generation, but unfortunately celebrities involved often misbehave and convey wrong messages to younger fans. This essay illustrates the pros and cons of the occurrence. It is undeniable that idols empower ordinary people in different aspects. For example, popular sports players are usually the ones both talented and industrious and have reached the peaks of their fields, so they can inspire their followers or at least imprint the idea that fame and fortune can be acquired by diligence. In addition to this, these well-known sportsmen promote their games in which more teenagers are charmed to participate and eventually build up strong bodies during their growth. As for Media stars, most of them bring amusement and beauty to the young audience, affecting their moods and releasing burdens from work and study. On the other hand, misleading effects can be serious to the youth if the well-known set bad examples. Idols’ appeal can be amplified due to the lack of judgement before the age of reason, so misbehaviour like indiscipline and drug-taking ­ add to the confusion on right and wrong, eventually leading to undesirable consequences. Yet in regard to bad examples, as the majority including teenagers actually pursue a certain sort of character set, usually glorious and graceful, hardly any stars who have made unforgivable mistakes can remain popular through time. Besides, if adequate parenting and schooling are guaranteed, few youngsters will step off the right track, as they will be aware of the severe consequences of misconduct. In conclusion, appreciating and following celebrities is regarded be blind to stereotypes but famous actors and players are often favoured as a result of certain positive qualities. Therefore, admiration towards them brings general positive effects.