Nowadays, people always throw old things away and buy new things, whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects does the phenomenon lead to?

In the contemporary era, people have the tendency to replace old objects with new ones, while in the past generations, things which had been utilized for ages were usually mended, making them available for more usage. I believe that the markets keep providing newly-designed merchandise is definitely the main contributor to this trend. However, the amount of discarded resources might accordingly skyrocket, which is the consequence of the above-mentioned behaviour of people. First and foremost, in the modern period, individuals are continuously given the newest models of products to choose from, which resulted in them discarding their original belongings. Undoubtedly, if people were to be offered the most innovative devices such as cell phones, it is unlikely that they would adhere to their previous options. For instance, Apple company keeps promoting new iPhones every three years, which makes the consumers switch to the latest smartphones, instead of preserving the outdated types. As a result, people eventually form the tendency to purchase new goods, rather than keep the old-fashioned ones. Nevertheless, the number of waste would definitely increase dramatically due to the previously mentioned trend. Undeniably, it is certain that when individuals decided to discard their outdated objects constantly, an increase in tons of unwanted resources would be caused. For example, since modern customers keep replacing clothes which are out of style with innovatively-designed pieces, the number of abandoned T-shirts, dresses or pants skyrocketed significantly. Consequently, more trashes consisting of clothing was created. In conclusion, I believe that the markets’ continual promotion of innovative goods is the major contributor to individuals throwing out old products and purchasing recently-made ones. As a result, more wasted resources were produced.