Some people believe that educational qualifications will always bring success in life. Other people say that educational qualifications do not necessarily bring success. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people find academic degrees or other training essential milestones for future success, while others believe that this does not guarantee future success and there are other relevant factors just as crucial. Personally, I take the opinion that success is not guaranteed. On the one hand, gaining educational qualifications is certainly a method with which to gain success in certain areas of life. With regards to a career, it makes a person more competitive as employers will generally seek people who are well-qualified for the best and most richly rewarded positions in their company. This is true for all types of work, be it as an accountant or lawyer or work in the building trade. It can also be viewed as bringing success in terms of one’s own development, as for some people gaining more educational qualifications is not for work but instead leads to a sense of personal accomplishment and fulfillment. On the other hand, it is not certain that success will follow. In terms of work, many people study hard to become well-qualified but then fail to reach the heights of success that they expected. This is because in today’s world there is a high level of competition for many jobs and a high number of graduates or qualified people. Not only this, there are other skills needed aside from qualifications. ‘ People skills’ are also very important and so regardless of the level of qualifications, those who cannot get along well with others may be less likely to achieve the success they desire. In my opinion, therefore, educational qualifications can bring success in life for many people, yet there are no guarantees this will be the case. Other factors such as the current job market and personal skills are also factors of importance.