Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

School examinations are perceived by some people to be less appropriate in terms of measuring students ' academic progress than a continuous appraisal. This essay agrees with the second statement for some reasons such as exams do not represent the whole curriculum throughout the year while the progressive ranking is more suitable to track pupils' understanding of subjects. To begin with, tests could not represent the whole year's learning progress and were rather prone to cheating despite the easiness to do and rank. First of all, the activity is oftentimes conducted in a short period of time hence losing the capability to contain all the materials learnt in a year. Besides, all lessons getting packed into just a few days is a real challenge for students, thus leading to instinct to cheat in order to pass the bar. As a result, the phenomenon of cheating at schools increases while the capability to measure pupils' brains decreases. On the other side, continuous assessment is a better option to track class audiences' improvement since the learning curve is not invariably linear to the point it can not be judged in one day. Moreover, the progress is usually fluctuating based on the ongoing subjects and students ' performance, thus such assessment is more representative to acknowledge students ' academic value. For instance, weekly tasks and quizzes are now popular amongst teachers in order to assess the kids' performance. In a nutshell, exams can be one way to assess students but not the only way to do so since the lack of compatibility to the whole study, and at the of the day, progressive assessment is more accurate in tracking kids learning progress at school.