Some people think that it is always an advantage to buy local products rather than those made in other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to globalisation, products made in different countries can be easily transported compared to the past. However, the issue of buying local goods has been raised at the same time. While some people would rather choose the products made in other regions, I believe that there are great benefits in buying local products, if the conditions of local production are supported. It is more beneficial to buy local products from the environment and consumer aspects. Purchasing local brands can reduce the carbon footprint produced by transportation, benefiting the environment while reducing pollution. The products do not have to transfer by different means of transportation. Hence, the overall retail price can be reduced as the costs of transportation are cut, benefiting the local customers. Also, local goods are initially created to target local people. For example, local beauty brands become more popular nowadays as the formula has changed to accommodate the humid weather in Hong Kong. This cannot be done by cosmetics brands from other countries. Hence, these items can bring greater advantages to local customers. However, buying products from foreign countries sometimes creates greater benefits. Because of the geographical location, some countries specialize in making certain goods. The cost of importing these foreign items may be lower than producing them in local factories. For example, agricultural production in Hong Kong is impossible to support the needs of all citizens. Therefore, it is inevitable to purchase from other countries. Also, the mechanizes from international companies could have better quality maintenance due to their regulations. Hence, it may be safer to use some foreign brands. However, local companies will be encouraged to produce a greater variety of products if the government can produce government policies to favour their needs, such as providing subsidies for farming or implementing strict policies on quality control. In conclusion, the potential benefits of buying local mechanises outweigh that of buying local products if the geographical conditions and government policies are well supported.