Social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face – to – face contact in this century. Do you think the advantage of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era, social networking sites like Twitter and Facebook are constantly overshadowing real life conversations. From my perspective, this development has more adverse effects on the public, than it's benefits. Although media increases connectivity with loved ones, it also, makes interpersonal connections weak over the period of time. The main advantage of using networking websites is there abiliity to enhance socialization conveniently, breaking the geographical barriers, with the help of well developed websites. For instance, now a lot of international students have the access to facetime their parents and grandparents living in a different continent. Consequently, students and all individuals living in a long distance relationship with their loved ones are less likely to feel lonely and isolated. Therefore, social networking through various browers is a feasible option to stay connected. On the other hand, it is disadvantageous because these networks are overused by the society and they are becoming a sole form of interaction leading to addiction and health disorders. For example, according to a US research approximately 50% of the population is addicted to their smart devices; and the health concers are simultaneously growing. Citizens, especially youngsers, stay engrossed with their phones most of the time and barely interact with peers. Thus, networking sites led to loosing inperson in person connections, in order to foster a remote life. Thus, in my opinion social media does more harm than benefit to the community. Instead of resolving, it promotes various mental health issues amongst public. Owing to the fact that overusage of applications is inevitable, it is best to avoid these sites.