Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime, but others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Increasing crime rates are a threat to society worldwide. Due to this individuals are too frightened to leave their homes. While some believe that more measures should be implemented, others believe that only the minimum can be done. I, however, strongly agree that more concreted measures should be taken and we should move to prevent these atrocities in the first place. On the one hand, the crime rate is increasing vastly. For example, gun-related casualties have rapidly increased over the years in the USA. As a result, the public has preferred to start staying indoors especially after it gets dark to avoid any mishaps. Thus, in this case, selling guns to the public should be illegal and not readily available. Furthermore, more severe punishments should be put into place to deter criminals so they are too intimidated to commit any crime. On the other hand, others believe that there is a limit as to what measures can be taken. People feel that fear of a crime is the state of mind perpetuated by the media. For instance, the media mainly portrays negative information regarding street crimes, therefore, making people feel more insecure about leaving their homes. Hence, believing that no matter what the police or the public do, there will always be some form of violence. To conclude, although there are limitations in preventing crime, it is still achievable. With tighter controls and more strict regulations, I agree that crime can be prevented.