Experts claim that if older people do more exercise they will be healthier and happier. However, many elderly people suffer from a lack of fitness. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of physical health in older people is escalating at an alarming rate in the current scenario. It is often argued that elderly people should increase their physical activities so that they can live a healthy and happy life. Although there are a plethora of reasons deteriorating fitness in old people, some sensible solutions are also available to curb this grave concern. Commencing with the causes which are responsible for its growth. Firstly, many people suffer from physical problems in their later life due to a lack of daily exercise at a young age. This play a crucial role in having a healthy life later. If the person does not take part in regular activities, they are higher chance of them experiencing health issues. Secondly, a person's diet has been a contributing factor in the improvement of health standards. Therefore, consuming unhealthy food and beverages, such as sugar-sweetened beverages and highly processed food, can lead to weight gain, obesity and other chronic conditions. For instance, a recent study held at the University of Oxford has shown that 88% of elderly population suffers from physical problems because of an unhealthy diet. In order to solve this serious issue, some measures can be taken. First and foremost, the government should ban junk food. This may discourage people to have such a diet and could turn them towards organic food. Moreover, schools and universities should declare sports and other physical activities mandatory for every student in an attempt to keep them fit. As a result, they will be fit when they will get old. As an illustration, a school in my hometown announces sports as a part of their education to increase their fitness level in 2006. Hence, it has been seen that every student from that school is living a healthy and joyful life. In conclusion, the above-mentioned problems can be solved by the given solutions. If proposed alternative solutions were to be implemented, this problem could be reduced to some extent, even if not totally eliminated. Government and people should come forward to mitigate this complex issue.