Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that some patients tend to promote their mental or physical health with unusual treatments and medicines, while doctors in hospitals may be a better choice. In my opinion, this situation is positive because it alleviates the pressure on doctors as well as gives an opportunity to those who cannot afford the expensive medical expenses. We have to admit that doctors in hospitals and clinics can provide patients with more professional advice and treatment, which increases the possibility of total recovery. For example, in China, people always go to famous hospitals and consult outstanding doctors in order to reduce their condition, while the same pattern exists in many nations and areas. In other words, doctors are able to tailor the prescription to the patient's condition. Therefore, it is a great choice for someone to go to the hospital when they are ill. However, due to the limited amount of medical resources, expensive costs and so on, patients sometimes choose to try alternative drugs and treatments. Firstly, in some developing countries, people cannot afford high-cost treatments and operations, they are required to try other therapy for coping with illness. Secondly, this case is able to reduce the pressure on the medical system including hospitals, doctors and nurses. Generally, medical workers suffer from long-time and high-strength work and thus have a greater chance to make mistakes in taking care of patients and an operation. This terrible case would be improved if people try to solve some illnesses like fever and influenza by themselves. In conclusion, the situation in which sufferers attempt to seek help from alternative medicines and treatments is absolutely a positive development, which not only decreases the payment for drugs and operations but also alleviates the stress of the medical system.