Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the fact that youngsters can learn efficiently by watching television, they should be persuaded to do so more often both at home and at school. There are some advantages and disadvantages to doing this. On the one hand, children can gain a substantial amount of educational information by watching television. They can learn more about cultures and animals all around the globe. Therefore, this will definitely help them have a better understanding of the world. In addition, if they can comprehend a foreigner's culture or religion, it would enable them to communicate better with that foreigner. For example, if a child is in a different country, they would be able to communicate by body language with the locals a little bit more easily if they understand their culture clearly and well. On the other hand, there are also harmful programmes on television that children should not watch. Furthermore, children should not be frequently exposed to inappropriate content such as being violent or committing crimes. For that reason, if they watch these programmes too much, it would have a detrimental influence on them. For instance, if a child watches criminals doing something illegal or watching fights too much, they will probably be encouraged to do so. In conclusion, I believe that there are pros and cons to children being encouraged to watch television more usually. However, in my opinion, children should watch television more as they can learn a lot of beneficial information and are under their parent's supervision.