Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. While other people think that taking part in individual sports is better, like tennis or swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe team sports are more advantageous than single sports, whereas others argue it is individual ones that are better to get involved in. From my point of view, although there are some vital benefits when playing individual sports, playing with others should be encouraged. One the one hand, individual sports may be beneficial to some extent. First and foremost, taking part in single sports helps evaluate and analyze accurately the performance. Take swimming for example, a swimmer could implement a smart watch in measuring his speed, swimming distance or heartbeat. Therefore, the swimmer could apply those figures in developing his skills and achieving better performances. Additionally, individual sports foster mental strength and people who play show increased resilience. More specifically, participants learn to motivate themselves by working through challenging training sessions or dips in performance and results. On the other hand, I maintain that essential life skills provided by team sports are much more crucial. The main one is cooperative skill. More specifically, one team can only achieve high accomplishments as long as every player can harmoniously coordinate with each other to compensate for each member’s shortcomings. As a result, since many big enterprises these days appreciate the ability to work in groups, not just high university degrees, applicants with developed teamwork skill have more chances to be recruited. Another helpful skill is making new friends. As people train, overcome challenges and win or lose together, they can forge strong bonds with their teammates that could last for years to come. Consequently, those friendships will become social networks to depend on, from the schoolyard to the board room. In conclusion, while individual sports are better tools to judge personal performance as well as intensify mental strength, I hold the belief that team sports benefits including the development in cooperative skill and strong friendships are more important. It is advisable that one player should play these two kinds of sports equally to fully improve himself.