GOVERNMENT PROHIBITING THE UNDERAGE CHILDREN FOR GETTING FULL TIME JOBS IN CERTAIN COUNTRIES. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

In most developed countries, governments have prohibited assuming people under sixteen for full-time jobs. There are several reasons supporting this choice, and I agree with it. Firstly, children's work is very often attached to underpaid jobs. Since the first industrial revolution, children have been used as a low-cost productive factor, spoiling their youth and provoking terrible situations that have been excellently described in some books, for instance, "Oliver Twist" by Dickens. However, it was not only the wage problems, also working conditions were critic. It is possible to see impressive photographs of child miners working in sulfur mines in Sicily, carrying heavy loads of minerals outside the caves, totally barefoot. Even in this case, literature offers a dramatic insight, thanks to Giovanni Verga's "Rosso Malpelo". Hence, it is evident that the government has made illegal children work to prevent such a situation. Secondly, in modern society, respect for educational rights is very embedded. In fact, after the two world wars, spreading basic education throughout the population is become one of the main objectives of governments. Nowadays, almost 80% of the world's population is alphabetized. Whereas, one hundred years ago, most common folks could not read and write even their own name. Thus, in such a complex world, guaranteeing basic education is necessary to give people the instrument to have a satisfying life. In conclusion, I think that the government's choice is correct because the reasons that have made them make this choice are valuable. Besides, I hope that emerging countries and economies that still rely on child labour will change their behaviour as soon as possible.