Some university students want to learn other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some students at universities prefer to study other subjects besides their main subjects, while others believe that it is better to give all their time and attention to learning only their main subjects. While studying various subjects helps to expand personal knowledge and prepare students for their future careers, I would argue that learning further subjects increases stress and pressure for students and may lead to their grades in the most important subjects going down. It is thought that learning further subjects at university is considered to be an opportunity to expand student’s knowledge and information. Learning more subjects keeps students informed about various topics that help them to develop their academic lives and professional lives in the future. Additionally, learning other subjects will contribute students to gaining skills which are crucial in work life. For instance, students who study further subjects at university, are more capable of engaging in their jobs faster and easily because they learn some skills in these subjects such as time management, using technological tools, and good communication skills. Hence, learning more subjects has developed many students in their work because this teaches them how to work under pressure. On the other hand, learning more subjects might distract many from their studies and contribute to their grades going down. Some students prefer to focus entirely on their main subjects because they find themselves cannot managing their studies which causes academic grades to drop due to the pressure of studying many subjects and not focusing on the essential studies. For example, the main subjects at university are considered to be difficult and students should spend time and make an effort to understand them clearly. If students study more subjects, that would be difficult to manage between different subjects and feel more stressful and may lead to some mental issues such as anxiety. In conclusion, although learning further subjects at university could prepare students for their professional lives and having a background in various subjects, I would argue that sometimes learning further subjects puts high pressure on students and distracts them from the essential ones which can lead to down their marks.