In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There is a tendency that people are willing to purchase a house instead of renting one. This situation partly reflects that people are eager to own a place which can provide stabilisation and comfort, especially in big cities with drastic competitiveness. Personally, I consider that it is a positive development for both individuals and society. There are many reasons that cause this case, which the primary reason I think is that people need their own house to demonstrate that they totally belong to this place. For example, in China, young adults tend to seek suitable jobs in modern cities, leading them to fierce competition. At that moment, they are more likely to purchase a house to verify the meaning of what they fight for. Compared to a rented house, people can attain more comfort and satisfaction in a house which belongs to themselves. Besides, a steady environment is beneficial to children's growth. Parents sometimes tend to purchase a house in a city due to the educational needs of their kids. In my opinion, this case brings tons of advantages to individuals and society. From the perspective of individuals, people are able to attain more convenience and enjoy more urban sources like education, healthcare and transportation. From the aspect of society, people invest in houses and thus indirectly promote the development of relevant industries such as architecture and iron and provide more jobs for labour markets. As a result, stable living information can reduces the possibility of crimes and improve social stabilisation. In conclusion, due to satisfying mental needs and enjoying more social sources like education and medicine, people tend to buy a house rather than rent one, while this situation promotes the development of society as well.