In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meeting. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

Communication is the key to success in a work environment. Virtual conversations have become the bread and butter of industries to bring everyone together, especially in unparalleled times like the covid pandemic. The time and cost-effectiveness of electronic set-ups and the ease of attending meetings from home eclipse the social constructs of in-person set-ups, and these would be discussed further in the following essay. Organizations are gravitating more and more towards computer-based meet-ups because of employees' convenience of taking up calls from anywhere, easy scheduling options, and improved team-building skills. With the advancement in video conferencing apps, such as MS Teams, and Zoom, people are presented with multiple opportunities to quickly set up calls according to everyone's schedule. For instance, clients who are in different cities, countries and continents can discuss progress without having to spend money on flights and the hassle of finding hotels for a one-day-long meeting. Moreover, studies have shown that introverts feel lesser social anxiety when they take video calls from home rather than in a face-to-face setting, helping them with nurturing better relationships with teammates. Therefore, this is the best way to be in contact with all members of the organization. However, electronic gatherings come with their limitations that pose health risks, both physically and mentally. Researchers have reported increased levels of headaches/migraines and mental illnesses amongst workers who have 8-hour desktop jobs. To add on, the negative impact on social skills and motivation to work in employees who work remotely is evidently stated by many peer-reviewed studies. For example, many extroverts were converted to introverts and showed symptoms of mental disorders such as anxiety and depression during the pandemic due to the lack of interaction with other humans. Thus, face-to-face gatherings in this case can minimize the mental illnesses caused by virtual conferences. To conclude, e-communication connects everyone in unprecedented ways and is the future of company get-togethers. With advantages like distance no bar, and saving up on financial expenditures, that overpower the cons, electronic encounters can revolutionize communication in the near future but every now and then, social in-person events should also be encouraged.