Write about the following topic: •The television is good for you. •Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Television has been a source of enjoyment for ages. It was used as an activity to overcome boredom and also gain knowledgeable information. The benefits,as well as drawbacks, have been highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, with the advancement of technology, television has evolved in terms of its functions. Instead of being viewed only as a source of entertainment, it now provides numerous features to its users. Furthermore, in contrast to other sources of leisure, televisions are economical and can be enjoyed in the comfort of our homes. To exemplify, people can customize their packages and choose from a variety of channels to fulfil their needs kids may prefer cartoons whereas young minds might be willing to focus on sports and discovery shows. On the contrary, there are a plethora of disadvantages as well. Firstly, if the viewing time is not restricted, it can result in a waste of time. Moreover, television does not offer the facility for parental guidance over the type of shows accessed as most televisions work on packages and blocking certain content is not possible. This could lead to a bad influence on teenagers as they might get encouraged by series normalizing crime and drug abusage. For instance, As per United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization's recent report, adolescents nowadays, are insensitive towards their peers as they feel it is fine to bully them. To summarize, anything done in excess can be harmful so it is important to maintain a balance and inculcate a healthy routine for watching television. Television is a medium of enjoyment in this hectic lifestyle yet the shows should be chosen diligently.