Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smart phones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

In this day and age, owing to the proliferation of technology, numerous electronic gadgets like laptops and smartphones use have increased at an alarming rate, however, the grey population is unfamiliar with this use and has become a matter of great concern. This is mainly due to the lack of knowledge regarding modern technology, but it can be controlled by educating old people. Amongst the major factors, having a zero level of knowledge related to electronic gadgets is perhaps the most significant contributing element. That is to say, elderly people have lots of practical knowledge gaps as compared to youngsters, they never use a mobile phone, hence, and they suffer alot or feel alone. In India, Punjab, for instance, 80% of the grey population was unable to deal with electronic gadgets such as mobile phones and computers according to a survey conducted by researchers. Moreover, multiple complications after sixty are another reason. This is because, with the increasing age, elderly people suffer from a plethora of health issues such as heart problems, eye issues and many more. Consequently, they are less likely to use a mobile phone. Turning to solutions, citizens must provide knowledge to senior citizens related to the latest innovations like a mobile phone by giving demonstrations. By doing this, they get to know how to use the latest technology which not only aids to reduce their boredom but also connects them with their loved ones. Also, the government ought to provide medical facilities to overcome the health issues of grey people. In conclusion, despite the fact that old people are struggling regarding how to use the mobile phone is a major concern we are facing today, if appropriate actions are taken by the government and individuals, it can be controlled to a greater extent.