Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions?

Soaring crime among today's youth is one of the major problems cities overcome nowadays. Although the culprit might be the lack of opportunities, there are many short-term and long-term solutions to reduce crime rates. On the one hand, young people are living in an uncertain and unstable world, where high rates of unemployment are commonplace. Additionally, especially in the developing world, young adults are discouraged by the high competition rate among newly graduated. Coupled with the high cost of living, this may lead many of them to commit crimes in order to feed their families. For instance, in a recent survey of young offenders in New York, many of them cited poor job prospects as their reason for offending. Another cause of the crime rate surge might be the high level of dissatisfaction experienced by city youth. Many cities are overcrowded, bustling and run down and this pushes some folks to crime. On the other hand, governments should enact two different types of solutions. In the short term, governments should offer free job -training programmes along with counselling to job seekers in order to inspire young adults to continue seeking a job. For example, a recent training scheme for the unemployed in Berlin has resulted in a 25% reduction in youth crime. Over the long term, governments and city leaders should work to make cities a more livable places, by creating more green areas, reducing taxes on low-income brackets and developing better infrastructure for city inhabitants. To sum up, although few job opportunities come with widespread dissatisfaction with the living conditions causing many urban youths to commit crimes, there are many governments can do in order in order to prevent and reduce crime rates.