Nowadays it is possible to use computers and mobile phones for automatic language translation, and there is no need for human translators and interpreters. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

At present time, no one can deny the value and presence of new tech advances in our daily lives. New computer appliances and cell phone apps in just one click can translate texts or voices from one tongue into another, helping us access new and foreign knowledge, and for that reason, some people consider linguists and polyglots unnecessary. Nevertheless, I personally disagree with this statement, as people who work doing translation still have a place in society Firstly, language interpreters are extremely necessary in face-to-faceface interactions where each party does not know the other’s mother tongue. Native speaking interpreters not only make a textual translation of some phrases, but they additionally add the other 80% of information that non verbal communication carries. Body language is key in our interaction and a human polyglot can decode it better than one tech expert. For instance, a British study in 2010 showed that almost 50% of the people who read a transcript made by a tech translator misunderstood the key points in one live lecture in comparison with the group that was face to face in the same lecture. Secondly, humans have other communication skills that new tech appliances lack, such as adaptability to different situations, learning and decoding specific or local language. A lingo could change in a specific field or location and even youngsters are always coining new words that are extremely challenging to learn if you do not keep up with them. For example, In medical congresses, there are always human translation aids who are experts in the field and know the specific medical language, and, due to that, could do a better job than only a tech gadget To summarize, even though laptop or mobile translating devices have facilitated our understanding of foreign language information, human interpreters are still essential in a variety of situations due to their flexibility and their capacity to read body language.