More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items with famous brands. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is common for people nowadays to purchase luxury cars, clothes, and other things for particular reasons. In my opinion, this habit brings negative impacts not only on personal finance but also affects their mental health. There are several reasons why people purchase expensive things. Firstly, it is because luxury goods create a status for them. Wearing something with high value will be considered a very important and valuable person. Another reason is when someone uses expensive products, their confidence level gets higher. However, judging by the reasons above, it is obvious the trend has negative impacts. The problem that might occur is consumptive behaviour. This means they will keep shopping even though their saving is low. As a result, this behaviour will ruin their personal finances.  Another problem that can happen is when they run out of money to buy some sophisticated things, they probably will take a loan from the bank. Consequently, they could be trapped in debt if the number of loans was too many, not to mention the rates. Furthermore, someone might be stealing or shoplifting when they can not afford it anymore. Additionally, the problems are not only in their financial aspect but also affect their personal insecurity. For instance, someone can lose their confidence without their expensive clothes or shoes. In conclusion, the reasons behind purchasing luxury brands are mostly considered social needs to be recognized or respected. Even though it might be good for the business but the impacts on a person create some problems, especially in the financial.