It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A gap year is considered as a year off after finishing high school and prior to going to university. It is becoming a mainstream amidst youth. There several pros and cons which I will attempt to examine in the following paragraphs. The first and foremost aspect of it is work experience which would definitely strengthen one ’s resume. To elaborate, some students do not have adequate time to work while studying due to intense academic schedule. As a result, their resume lacks of some basic professional skills which can be improved by finding a full-time job during the year off. Moreover, some youngsters opt to travel around the world which can bring them peace of mind and a relax mode, especially after constant twelve- year study. To explain more, some young people visit very different regions from their homelands which make them familiar with other people’s tradition and culture. Consequently, some new windows and perspective to life would be opened to them. For instance, by exchanging cultures and customs, people would be able to understand the way other people behave or reflect. On the contrary, there some potential risks in taking a year off before college. The first thing comes to the mind is wasting time and getting behind from those who choose to continue studying. If one does not make an excellent plan on what to do and what to learn over this period, he might end up doing nothing which has a straightforward effect on his future’s success. Furthermore, the costs of exploring the world or participating in gap year programs are truly high. Therefore, before planning, one should consider and calculate all the hidden expenses are required for this one year. In brief, the idea of a year off between high school and university is considered by many students in recent years. One who is considering to take a gap year should examine all aspects of it, positives and negatives, pauses and reflects, as this one year may influence his whole future life.