Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that with so much suffering in the human population these days, it is wrong to use up precious resources on animals. Taking the example of the tiger, proponents of this view say that to encourage tiger populations to increase in areas farmed by humans would be morally wrong because peoples’ livelihoods would be destroyed for the sake of an animal. The tigers will hunt livestock and, given the chance, humans as well. In other words, where there is competition between humans and animals in a given habitat, it is right that humans should win. The point is also made that, over millennia, certain species have disappeared while others have flourished, and that we should allow nature to take its course and let failing species die out. In fact, it is suggested that protecting vulnerable species damages the ecology of the earth because only the fittest should survive. I agree that human life is always of greater value than animal life. However, I feel that trying to save any creature from extinction enhances human existence, because our lives would be diminished if fascinating and beautiful creatures such as tigers or elephants were lost forever. Furthermore, being the most powerful creature on the planet means that we have a moral and ethical duty to care for weaker species. Finally, even less-appealing animals such as insects and amphibians should be preserved, because maintaining different species promotes biodiversity. It is possible, for example, that scientists might be able to find products from these animals of benefit to humans, such as medicines or fertilisers. On balance, I feel that every effort should be made to save as many species as possible, for practical and moral as well as aesthetic reasons.