Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, the aim of schooling has become one of the most popular topics in society. Although I understand why some people believe offering more entertaining at school will be beneficial to teaching, on the whole, I personally advocate the view that schools should not provide more entertainment. This essay will discuss this issue, using examples from the research of Stanford University and the Chinese government to demonstrate points and support arguments. On the one hand, there is ample evidence that teaching via playing games, cartoon videos or other entertaining measures could allow students to better acquire knowledge from classes. Compared to some traditional teaching methods such as asking students to read books, learn by rote or merely listen to what teachers are saying, instilling knowledge via entertaining approaches is much more vivid and interactive, which would engage students ' interests and help them to remember information better. For example, Recent empirical research from Standford University shows that over 85% of students can well recall learning content one week after having an experimental lesson where they were learning history through playing a quiz game, while over 60% of students from another group, who attended a history lesson and learnt in a traditional way, fail to remember details. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that entertaining can help students have a better grasp of knowledge. On the other hand, entertainment should not be adopted at school owing to numerous reasons. Firstly, teachers are unlikely to know how to amuse students during passing on information, as the previous professional training they have received is about how to teach academic subjects rather than become entertaining. Second, A amusing way to teach may result in a disruptive class. To be more specific, some unruly students could take the advantage of the entertainment and act up in class. Teachers would find it difficult to control such situations. For instance, an extensive study from the Chinese government indicates that most junior school teaching staff have confronted thorny occasions where students started to talk and class became noisy when cartoon videos were playing. However, over 85% of them fail to reduce the noise level at that time. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that entertaining ways of teaching are not appropriate for schools to introduce. In conclusion, From the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that being entertaining should not be introduced into the school curriculum, due to the uncertain results it might cause. It can be predicted that schools will still stick to the traditional way of teaching in the future.