New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the rapid development of modern technologies, more children can use different electronic devices at an early age. But I am firmly convinced that the disadvantages of this phenomenon must outweigh its advantages. To start with, using electronic devices since childhood can do harm to children's physical health. Firstly, children are more likely to sit in one place for a long time and spend plenty of time on smartphones, computers and TV, which may force children to develop a sedentary lifestyle. These unhealthy living habits prevent them from going out to do some exercise. Secondly, long-time staring at the screen poses great stress on children's visual sight, so more and more pupils are in glasses. Earphones can also hurt people's hearing ability to some extent. On the other hand, new technologies also have an impact on youngsters' mental health. Chatting with others online vastly reduces children's social time and the frequency of face-to-face communication. The scarcity of real talking may gradually erode their social manners and cause a loss of expressing ability, which is adverse for children to develop complete personalities. Except this, pupils are particularly vulnerable to malicious information online, they are at risk of misleading by illegal news or violent pictures. However, modern electronic devices can sometimes be beneficial to young children's upbringing. They can learn more real-life knowledge and skills at an early age. For example, children could obtain diverse knowledge through documentaries on TV, new technologies also provide more access for them to information via the Internet. Moreover, different kinds of devices give the young generation chances to entertain themselves, cartoon animations can be the best example to illustrate this point. In conclusion, the use of modern technologies could be seen as an inevitable experience for the young, but as long as children use these devices in an appropriate way, they can be an excellent assistance for youngsters' upbringing.