The number of people working online from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come off this trend?

In some countries, there is an increasing number of employees who work remotely from home and this trend is growing in popularity. Although there are some minor implications related to the home-based work environment, the advantages definitely outnumber its demerits. To begin with, a vast majority of big enterprises tend to recognise the benefits of online working on the productivity and general satisfaction of their employees, therefore they tend to be flexible in their approach to offer their employees the option of hybrid working from the comfort of the home. Undoubtedly, the main advantage of online working is convenience which results from the fact that employees do not need to waste time on daily commutes which is cost-effective and could be spent on more productive activities. For example, workers who have a family can allocate the time saved on their daily commutes to quality time they could spend with their beloved ones. Moreover, since workers do not need to use their personal vehicles, this contributes to reduced traffic congestion in the city and improved air quality since the reduced the number of toxic fuel fumes. On the other side, despite detrimental benefits which can help improve general employee satisfaction and air pollution as well, online working might have some minor implications. Although single workers might not see a dramatic difference between office and online working, then employees who need to balance their professional career and childcare might find it extremely challenging and hence might prefer working from the office as a way to escape from daily family stress. To summarize, although employees might have their own preferences regarding their working environment, the significant advantages seen in the examples of saved time and environmental benefits, definitely outnumber its minor drawbacks.