In some countries, some school leavers choose to work or travel for a year between finishing secondary school and attending university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and then give your opinion.

A lot of students prefer to take a yearly break from their education and invest their time in working or travelling. In this essay, we will discuss the merits and drawbacks of the same. Also, I will share my perspective on supporting the academy leavers who take a break. There are many advantages of leaving the education before attending university. The main benefit is an additional experience in your resume. There are certain universities that vouchsafe admission only to students who have acquired some field participation. For instance, A student gets admitted to Yale for journalism because he had some field experience. In addition, another advantage is the development of skills and knowledge. An undergraduate who has worked or travelled often has more knowledge and capabilities than one who is inexperienced. For example, A student who has been to France can write a better article on french culture than a student who has written the article using the internet. On the contrary, The main disadvantages are detachment from learning and losing pals. Firstly, the salient problem is detachment from the education system since the student has not attended school. As illustrated, a student returns to the institution after a period but is unable to cope with the school. Secondly, losing friends to a higher grade is the most common demerit. The friends who continued their studies have moved to the higher class leaving the others with no friends. For instance, the classmates graduate a year ahead of the pupil who left school. To conclude, there are many pros and cons of leaving school for the purpose of endeavour or travel before attending university. However, in my opinion, the merits such as work experience and developing skills and knowledge easily surpass the demerits of leaving school. Hence, I support students who leave school to work or commute for a year between finishing high school and attending university.