In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of advanced technology will make the automobile without any drivers in the future. There is no doubt that individuals inside those will only be travellers. However, I believe there are more drawbacks to this improvement than benefits regarding economic aspects and safety concerns. Although driverless vehicles will benefit the business by saving operational costs as they no longer need to hire motorists, it will lead to many citizens losing jobs, which will create a detrimental impact on economic growth. In other words, operators who lose their jobs will not have salaries for livings like apartment rent or daily necessities, resulting in a lack of revenue for industries such as real estate and restaurants. Indeed, recent research from the U.S. Today shows that numerous experts predict that every five per cent of driverless vehicle productions will lead to a ten per cent decline in economic growth. Moreover, vehicles without drivers not only affect negatively the economy of society but also create safety issues among the citizens as vans without motorists become useless because the residents have no idea how those automobiles make decisions when accidents occur. For example, some people mentioned that it would be very dangerous if some technical issues happened in the running of those cars that the motor could not stop. Therefore, many of them claimed that they would not try driverless rides. To sum up, I insist that the side effects of driverless vehicles are more significant than the positive aspects in the economic factor and safety problems.