In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is projected that all means of transportation, such as cars, buses and trucks will be automated in the future, with passengers being the only people inside these vehicles. While this development allows old people and those with no driving skills to travel more easily, I strongly believe that the disadvantages will outweigh the advantages as it might result in mass job loss and is quite dangerous sometimes. Firstly, with the advent of automatic cars, people who are not capable of driving will be provided with profound convenience regarding travelling since they will not be required to know how to drive in order to travel. This advantage does not only benefit the mentioned group of people but also the elderly who may occasionally experience difficulty driving because of their degrading health condition. For instance, when sitting in a driverless car, elderly people need not either focus on the traffic or remember how to function a car properly, a plus which is not available when using normal cars. However, the replacement of manned cars with automatic ones will lead to many bus, car, or truck drivers losing their jobs as the vehicles can drive themselves without the surveillance of those people. Consequently, it will deprive the contemporary drivers of their source of income and leave them unemployed which will later impede the economic growth. Additionally, automated transportation does not guarantee absolute safety. This is because they are not programmed to deal with sudden passers or reckless motorbike riding, which may eventually cause great deaths. To illustrate, many people in the USA have lost their lives as a consequence of incompetent driverless cars. In conclusion, while the development of automatic vehicles in the future may offer great convenience to customers, the costs, which are considerable layoffs and non-absolute safety, are worth more concern and consideration compared to the benefits provided.