It is becoming popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays school graduates have opportunity to have a year off before entering to university. It is considered that gap year between graduation and entering universities is more often practiced and preferred by many juveniles. The aim of this essay is to examine benefits and drawbacks of having gap year. On the one hand, gap year provides the possibility to earn money for needs and wants, whereas people could not have a chance to full-time work while studying at university. In other words, having work experience throughout the year off is convenient due to the given free time. For instance, everyone needs money for housing and subsistence which are not affordable for some individuals after the graduating. Therefore gap year is appropriate period for money-making before studying. On the other hand, gap year may cause feeling of being behind individual’s peers. Particularly, in some cases gap year practitioners think about that their peers are a year ahead them and feeling anxious about it. For example, person can be the older freshmen in class, thereby being unconfident. These factors may be struggling and distract from studying that is disadvantageous. In conclusion, although the practicing gap year can be reason of psychological issues, it is beneficial to save money for the future. As discussed in this essay, graduates must weigh the pros and cons already and decide what would be relevant for them.