Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, sports events have gained popularity throughout the world as a medium to encourage world harmony. However, some people believe such events are a waste and instead other critical issues should be prioritized. Both views along with my opinion have been highlighted in the following paragraphs. Firstly, International peace has always been a major concern throughout the world and athletic events have proved to be a platform that helps in demonstrating the values of togetherness to the entire world population. Additionally, sporting activities inculcate healthy competition among nations rather than an envious bond. To exemplify, a survey that has been conducted by United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization indicates a positive outlook of respondents towards the participating nations and encouraged better relations with them rather than the ones who were ignorant of such tournaments. Conversely, although these national matches promote unity yet they are significantly opposed as they put the nation's burning issues backstage. Firstly, as these programs attract international attention, more funds are utilized for the improvement of existing infrastructure rather than focusing on deep-rooted issues such as poverty and illiteracy. Furthermore, the government becomes keen to propagate its economic agendas rather than social welfare. In my opinion, instead of focusing on one aspect, it is important to maintain a balance between both advancements. In other words, although international participation forges better foreign relations and introduces the world to the local heritages of a particular country boosting its economic value yet the development of the nation should always be of utmost concern. To summarize, international sports exhibitions are a great source of promoting peace in the world and should be done in a diligent way by the participating countries without compromising their own development goals.