Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In modern days, Global information is one click away and journalism coverage is focused on international news as globalization is making the world more connected. I agree the focus of the coverage must be international, although, the local news shouldn't be neglected and is still just as important. Firstly, with globalization occurring around the world, having an impact locally is important to maintain the spread of information and keep people informed about any situation that might affect their lives. For example, if the production of rice in Japan is affected, the importation of the product to others countries can affect the daily lives of the people who consume that particular product. Let's say a small town in the USA is a big importer of Japanese rice, a family will be impacted by that sudden change from the other side of the world, right? Another point is local news is important for the civilians of these areas, moreover, in the big picture, the local news does not have such relevance in their day-by-day lives. For instance, if a murder happened in a town, the newspaper will have that information ready to share with the locals. In fact, some local news will not affect the lives of the civilians of the town as much as international information which does have a bigger impact on these people. In conclusion, I agree covering international news is a lot more relevant nowadays, regarding globalization, so the funding must go to that side. However, as stated before, local news must not be neglected, as must have its space too.