Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that social issues have no relationship with our lives, therefore it is unnecessary to read news from newspapers and TV. However, I entirely oppose this statement based on getting in touch with current issues, as well as, improving our critical thinking skills. First and foremost, I believe that reading news from different platforms allows us to understand what is happening around the world. It is true that broadcast report provides enormous information, from current matters to weather situation. For instance, reporters will inform us if there is any bad weather, like typhoons or heavy rain so that we can be aware and thus take precautions, such as bringing an umbrella when we go out or closing all the windows in our home. It reveals that news reports help us to prevent any accidents, such as going to a place that might have flooding, by noticing the updated information. In contrast, if we do not pay attention to the news, we are not aware of the condition surrounding us, and thereby we may have a higher chance get involved in accidents or in danger. On a whole, it is crucial for us to read the broadcast so as to familiarise the current condition of our hometown. Furthermore, it is undoubted that we can train our critical thinking skills through reading recent matters. As we all know, critical thinking skills are significant to our study and work, such as writing excellent argumentative essays or making business decisions. For example, the majority of social issues are controversial, like whether the government expenses should be spent on preserving endangered species rather than other public sectors. Likewise, while we are reading these matters, we can take both benefits and drawbacks into account before coming up with our stance, and this practice provides an opportunity to excel in your inborn thinking abilities. It is clear that when you have excellent critical thinking ability, you can perform well in both studying, as well as, working. As a result, reading the report is essential in terms of improving our thinking process. In a nutshell, I strongly disagree with this statement as the advantages of reading the reports outweigh the harms.