The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from the suburbs or the countryside to live in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some citizens are convinced that the most efficient approach for solving transportation and traffic issues is to make those people living in the countryside or the suburbs move to the urban areas more willingly. Personally, I do not agree with this point of view. I do accept that urbanisation might help to unload roads and prevent streets from being congested with traffic because most people living outside cities usually work in urban areas. They commute to work to the central parts of cities which leads to traffic jams and multiple problems with transport. That is why living closer to their workplaces could mitigate these issues significantly, decreasing the need for the use of private or public transport. As an alternative, they can, for instance, get from A to B on foot or by riding bikes. However, I do not think that such an approach is possible because cities cannot accept too many new residents as their areas are limited. If it happens, the prices for housing will skyrocket to unbelievable levels and very few people will be able to pay rent. I take the view that the most optimal way to handle problems related to transport and traffic in cities is to launch the program of public transportation network expansion, which will make it more reliable for the population. For this purpose, governments ought to allocate a significant proportion of their budgets to this area in order to make public transport more attractive to each inhabitant, which, in turn, will reduce the use of people's private vehicles and prevent traffic jams. For example, passing new lines of metro in London over recent years has decreased congestion in its streets during rush hours by 30%. As a result, it will be much easier for everyone to commute or to reach a final destination. In conclusion, although moving to cities might unload roads and prevent problems associated with transportation to some extent, I consider that only effective steps made by local authorities can cope with these issues most effectively.