In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Studying abroad has been much more common compared to the past when a majority of people tend to obtain their degrees from their local universities. While students can benefit a lot from studying abroad, there are also some drawbacks that need to take them into consideration. Living in foreign countries allows students to learn essential life skills. One of the crucial differences is that students are forced to be independent and solve problems on their own, such as doing all household chores and managing finances. For example, I got COVID-19 when I was an exchange student last year. But I still had to arrange all the things ranging from meals to accommodation for myself to survive. The experience trained me to tackle challenges myself. Besides, another advantage of studying overseas is to learn about new cultures. Students have a greater chance to meet a lot of people from all over the world. They can also travel around the neighbouring countries, increasing their exposure to new cultures and boarding their horizons. This unique experience cannot be obtained through books and papers. However, there are several disadvantages to obtaining a degree from a foreign university. Firstly, the financial cost is much higher than studying in local schools as they would not get a financial subsidy from the government. For instance, the tuition fee for studying abroad is at least doubled the fee for one semester in Hong Kong. Secondly, students have to stay away from home for a long time. Due to the difference in time zones, their connections with their families and friends are reducing. It may be quite lonely if students need emotional support from their loved ones. To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages to studying in a foreign country. But if the budget is supported, it is recommended to study abroad for at least one semester.