Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

t is often said that homework should be made mandatory for every student. In my opinion, however, I believe that doing exercises after school is not helpful for young learners. On the one hand, there are some reasons why homework should be provided. Firstly, it can help students to commit knowledge to memory easier. According to research, nothing can be retained in a child’s brain for less than 20 minutes. In fact, kids get distracted easily and the optimal way to help them learn is to continuously repeat things. For that reason, homework is suggested to be the best reminder for offspring. Secondly, teachers can access children’s learning abilities thanks to homework. For instance, young pupils are asked to finish their assignments to check their understanding and homework results will be the correct evaluation. On the other hand, I would argue that teachers should not assign tasks after class to pupils. The first reason is that this action might have a detrimental effect on children’s mental health. Scientists have shown that a youngster’s brain requires a certain amount of time to recharge its energy as well as relax after eight hours at school. If children are forced to finish their assignments at home, it might result in anxiety and distress in the long run. The second reason is that there will be less family time for children. Specifically, minors already spend half of their day at school, and homework does nothing but steals their second half of the day. Consequently, students are not allowed to participate in family activities including cooking and TV time. In conclusion, even though homework gives a proper evaluation of learners’ understanding, I believe that youngsters should have more free time with their families to stay mentally healthy.