Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or bad development?

It is said that there is an increasing trend in the community to choose different cuisines instead of local ones. I believe this popular trend is due to the widespread use of the internet, and it is a negative development for society. First and foremost, the widespread use of the internet allows the public to get in touch with meals from all around the world. It is true that online provides enormous information for us, such as the food culture of other countries. For instance, in this day and age, countless foodies share delicious dishes when they are travelling on their social platforms, like Instagram, and Facebook so that their followers can notice some signature foods from different places, such as "pad thai", which is a well-known Thailand cooking. It reveals that when people understand menus from different cities, which may encourage them to have a try. On a whole, with the excessive use of e-platform creates curiosity in the public in terms of eating foreign foods. Furthermore, the sense of identity in the nation is lost due to the popularity of eating foreign cuisines. As we all know, food culture is the key value of a country, such as "sushi" represents Japan or "Dim Sum" represents China, we should not underestimate the importance of local menus to countries. In contrast, nowadays, folks tend to try meals from other places instead of the local ones, and it is undoubted that they may forget the full picture of their hometown. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 80% of individuals are unable to tell their famous hometown dishes, which depicts that the majority forgot the value of their places. It is clear that the widespread of eating foreign food creates an adverse effect on the nation, which is the loss of citizens' sense of identity. In a nutshell, I reckon that technological advancement creates a push force in society to try unfamiliar cuisines, and also it is an adverse development for the community in terms of food culture.