Some think in today's modern world people depend on each other more. Others think the modern world is creating more independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely believed that people have become more reliant on others now, raising concerns about whether the modern world is creating more dependence among the public or not. Many argue that adolescence, for instance, has become much more dependent on their parents in recent years when it comes to various things such as borrowing a sum of money. It is often pointed out that this would cause their kids to become spoilt even as adults, resulting in them becoming lazy and heavily reliant on others. Moreover, due to the widespread availability of technology and other resources, it is argued that many use this as a medium to exploit others for their benefit. Furthermore, in the past young teenagers were expected to have families at a very young age, causing them to be more independent compared to today's generation. In addition, it can also be argued that back then, being independent was vital for survival such as in wars or simply because of how common betrayal was and its dire consequences. Hence, independence was seen as the only way to prevent this from happening. However, there is no denying that recent times have become more competitive than ever in terms of getting a job for example or admission to a university. This has led many to believe that a large portion of society has become independent to the point of isolation. In addition, growing up in a tough and arguably unfair world has led to people becoming more selfish and consequently, more independent. In my opinion, the phrase "every man for themselves" is more fitting now than ever. In conclusion, I personally believe that the presence of fewer issues and the need for survival compared to the past, along with the availability of many resources has caused people to become dependent on each other more despite the increase in competition.