The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that social media plays a big part in people's everyday lives. One uses social media in various ways such as contacting, working, and connecting with other people. With the benefits of efficiency and convenience, I consider social media usage as the superior channel of communication and its advantages outweigh that of traditional offline communication. First of all, those online platforms widen people's chances in many aspects of their lives. People can communicate right away without any conditions, especially when distance is the issue. Therefore, there are more chances for one to get into his dream university abroad, or meet new friends worldwide. Moreover, using social media as a medium also enhances productivity. In the workplace, for instance, the boss can reduce employees' time for meeting onsite by implementing online meetings instead; this gives employees more time to work on their responsibilities instead of being stuck in traffic on their way to face-to-face meetings. On the other hand, the face to face communication also has values that cannot be completely replaced by digital mediums. Lack of understanding and empathy often occur when one communicates mostly via social media, while offline communication doesn’t have this issue much. When one completely sees other people ’s expressions and body language, one tends to develop a sense of connection and deep understanding. As a result, the usage of social media might not be successful in dating. Finding love needs a high level of intimacy and trust and only chatting is not enough. To sum up, even though social media platforms have some drawbacks of fewer connections in romantic relationships, the benefits of online channels still outweigh their disadvantages. Technology created social media for people to be capable of globalization as well as a borderless world. These developments of online tools helped one to catch up with their chances and conveniences in the flow of communication