Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Society, without any doubt, is divided into two groups as per the distinct mindsets of different people. It is often argued that enforcement of severe penalties can minimize car accidents, whilst others believe that other actions would be more successful in order to improve safety on the road. Although signboards and speed breakers can play a crucial role in decreasing adverse collisions, I firmly believe both punishments and other measures can be used to make our roadways safer. This essay will shed light on both perceptions but also my point of view will be elaborated in the conclusion. To commence with the first notion, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First of all, stern punishments can undoubtedly encourage people to drive more carefully. To elucidate further, if there are penalties for dangerous drivers, it will stop them from causing or repeating offences. There are various types of penalties such as spanning small fines, license suspension, a ban on driving etc. For instance, a law was enforced that if a person will drive at a speed of more than 80 km/h on the highway will be charged with a fine of 5000 rupees. As a result, drivers now drive more cautiously. On the other hand, many believe that roadway safety can be improved by implementing other practices that do not punish motorists. The government can put more road sign boards which will indicate people about speed bumps, road bends and other cautions. Moreover, there should be stern driving tests in order to avail driving license. This can lessen the number of bad drivers and increase the safety of roadways. To illustrate, to get a driver's license in Pakistan a person has to go through a series of writing and practical tests to pass. Thus, only citizens who passes can drive making roads safe for everyone. In conclusion, according to perspective, both the punishments as well as other actions should be combined to avoid roadway hazards. The government and the public should come forward to mitigate this complex issue.