Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to technological advancement, monitoring system appears to be very common nowadays, ranging from cell phone tracking to security cameras. Some people raise the privacy concern that we are always being monitored without knowing it. While there are some drawbacks to using monitoring systems, I believe that the pros of using these systems outweigh the cons. The major criticism of these security systems is that they invade others’ privacy. This is because our movements are being tracked all the time. Not only do they make some people feel uncomfortable, but also they harm personal freedom. It will also be uneasy and even insecure for cell phone tracking. For example, my friend once told me that she sometimes felt distressed as her whole family know her activities with cell phone tracking apps that all of them agree to install for security. However, it seems that monitoring system brings more benefit to different groups of people. First, the number of crimes such as stealing can be reduced with CCTV in stores and shopping malls. Second, it would be useful to get evidence from security cameras in schools and cell phone tracking apps if children are in danger. This also applies to the elderly with dementia as cell phone tracking allows families to find their loved ones easier in case of disconnection. To conclude, although monitoring systems have several problems, it is still believed that the advantages created outweigh the disadvantages if the systems are used in the proper ways.