Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imprisonment is a more efficacious way of fighting certain types of crimes than education and training. In cases where criminals can pose a critical danger to society such as child molestation or mass shooting, imprisoning them can play a crucial role in deterring their malicious intent and preventing them from harming others. While rehabilitation programs can be effective in reducing recidivism rates, they are not always viable options for those who may suffer from chronic mental illnesses. For example, some research suggests that criminals suffering from impulse control disorder, a type of condition that makes it difficult to control their actions, can impose violence as an automatic response to problems despite taking psychological therapy in prison. Consequently, contrary to the arguments for education and training programs, I believe that incarceration should be the most appropriate course of action given the threats posed by serious crimes.