Many people believe that schools should teach children to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Personality is one of the biggest traits that represent an individual's character. While some believe that children should grow up and develop into virtuous people rather than only thinking about themselves, I, however, partially disagree and feel that independence is vital to becoming successful. On the one hand, while some may agree I personally feel that children should be taught to respect their community.Indeed, living as good citizens youngsters should actively contribute to their community. For example, helping to clean up their area and not littery as well as providing community service and respecting others around them. Similarly, when children enter the workforce, they should be taught etiquette on how to interact with other individuals and respect each other's work ethics and privacy. For instance, we should teach them to be polite and help others when required. On the other hand, I still believe that children should be taught independence. Particularly, when they leave school and move on to further education or join a workplace, they need to learn to work independently. To cite an example, many students leave home and move away alone for their institutions or jobs to pursue their dreams. As a result, they need to learn to be self-sufficient and self-supporting in order to achieve such goals. To conclude, although I do feel that children must learn to become exemplary citizens. Furthermore, they should be exemplary for society. Nevertheless, these youngsters should also be able to become self-standing and thus be prepared for any forthcoming situation.