Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As a high school teacher, I have spotted my students using their phones on campus countless times. To many of my fellow teachers even the institution’s authority, this can be a negative development as it may pose a threat to the school ’s security. However, the benefit of dial use is undeniable. We all see how phones have affected our life ever since their advent, especially, how it has changed our habit of taking in information. Spontaneously are we notified about almost everything in the world within a ‘ting’ of our pocket- phone. This is universally considered a serious distraction. Imagine the same thing happens to schoolgoers, whose attention span is shorter than a goldfish. For instance, putting aside how engaged my lecture is, I more than usual catch some of my teenage PUPILS using phones during class, even when important points of the lesson are being summarized. I wonder how much can those young minds learn when they are being bothered with TikTok videos and Instagram reels. Moreover, allowing phones in schools means that students are able to take photos and record videos to post directly to the internet. Everyone knows that media is a two-sided knife and a photo or a video does not tell the whole story, which may falsely direct media attention and encourages unwelcomed behaviours within the school campus. However, mobile phones are really useful in keeping connections between parents and their children these days. It is not that school is no longer a sanctuary where parent- school mutual trust is absolute, but it is that parents are too busy to pick up their children in time or that the trip from home to school is now too dangerous for a youngster to go alone that the parents, who are working, want to keep track of their children with phone calls. In another aspect, with the introduction of student-centred teaching methods, modern smartphones, as a mean of an information search engine, also shows how much it benefits research work when studying. Smartphone gives students access to a resourceful platform for information searching immediately. This somehow challenges the idea of banning campus phone use. In conclusion, as a teacher, I will not deny the advantages of students having phones at school. However, phone use on campus still has to be limited due to its potential threats to education activities as well as the school ’s security in the war against negative media. I suggest every school provide students with modern educational facilities such as tablets or smart libraries and free phone booths for student-parent interactions in replacement of smartphones.