The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments' expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary epoch, the maintenance of old buildings has often been discussed. Whilst some proponents emphasize the responsibility of governments on old buildings, some opponents including myself think otherwise. This essay will discuss my viewpoint. One of the major reasons is that people migrate from multiple places to cities seeking jobs and better lifestyles. Consequently, there is a need for better housing, schools,hospitals and other infrastructure. Old residential ownership is an asset, however, they may lack modern facilities and may not be in a condition to inhabit and therefore it would be ideal to demolish them. An eminent example of this is that governments in most developed countries, invite tender from private owners to bid for such properties and whoever wins the deal will get the opportunity for new construction. Public works departments make use of these funds to build roads and other utilities. Historial monuments form another category of old property, and they should not be demolished as it bonds the relationship between the past and the present. Artefacts in these places are used by historians and other researchers as part of their job or studies. However, governments need not take responsibility for these establishments. For instance, in India maintenance responsibility of monuments such as the Taj Mahal and Red Fort are assigned to private vendors on a fixed-term contract. These initiatives would not only bring income for the government but also provides the opportunity for private owners to showcase their service. To recapitulate, while the old buildings serve as a link between old culture and the present, I would come up with the conclusion that the government's budgets should not be consumed to maintain these facilities. Authorities must assess its usage to the prevailing society and plan for demolishing it or changing it to private ownership.