Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. Write an essay expressing your point of view. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

To reduce tensions among different countries as well as to safely show patriotism, international sporting events such as the football World cup are very important. For a long time, people have participated in such events which have proved useful throughout the years. In my opinion, these should be promoted. One of the major reasons is that when watching a team participate from a particular country, the citizens of that place would feel immense pride and joy, which they wish to share with their friends as well as relatives hence, creating unity among the people. Moreover, as they watch an athlete trying their very best, it provides them with a sense of satisfaction as if they were the ones participating. The same principle can be viewed in inter-school competitions. The students of a particular school, for instance, all come together and work hard even if everyone does not participate. Every single person has a role to play in the entire event. Similarly, the people who do not participate cheer for those who take part in the competition therefore, increasing their levels of patriotism. Another reason is that such activities can put out a stage for many countries to compete safely among their well-raised athletes, rather than resorting to war, mayhem, and chaos for every single dispute between them. These nations can let out their frustrations along with bringing in recognition as well as commendations from all around the world. In ancient times, the greeks for example, used to conduct chariot races to dispel disputes between their factions. Likewise, these events bring about a chance to alleviate international problems. In conclusion, participating in the Olympics or FIFA World cup is essential for every nation, so that its citizens can live in peace and harmony with the rest of the world. I also think that it is important to conduct more such events so that many get an opportunity to participate thus, allowing more chances to solve many problems amicably.