Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, one school of thought holds that social networking platforms play a negative role in each individual and the entire society. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justified, I assert that there are other positive factors that might logically lead to opposition. On the one hand, it is understandable why online communities are in a bad light. For example, it could harm children’s awareness. In fact, there are numerous unsuitable or toxic content that teenagers can easily access without any limitation or observation, thereby leading them to imitate bad behaviours, such as bullying, lying, or racism. Furthermore, digital social networks could destabilise a nation. This is because these platforms could cause the spread of misleading information and the criminal could take advantage of these false data to influence public opinion or create riots. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I declare social media sites could be advantageous to certain extents. One rationale is that it could maintain citizens’ relationships. To be more specific, members of a family, especially those who study abroad or live far away from their home, could interact with each other despite long distances. Thus, they could share their emotions and thought via conversations as well as strengthen their ties and reduce potential mental problems. Another justification is that online social websites could contribute to the development of a country. For example, gigantic global corporations, such as Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter are likely to earn a huge annual revenue, which could enhance the government budget by paying more taxes. As a result, the governing bodies could not only utilise these financial resources to invest to make profits or pass some laws to help the poor. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that Internet networking sites have some serious demerits, I would contend that these applications also have several merits that the public should take into consideration.