Nowadays, some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people rather than living with their adult children. Is that a positive a negative development?

It is true that a number of the elderly opt to reside with their peers in retirement communities instead of living with their offspring now. In my opinion, I consider it to be a positive development. There are several benefits for older people to live in a retirement community. Firstly, better facilities and professional health care can be provided for elder residents. They need special care and aid because they may have diseases like Alzheimer's and diabetes. For example, in most housing that is designed for aged people, they can enjoy specific equipment and nursery services, which may not be provided if living with their children. Moreover, when they suffer from illness and need to go to a hospital, their offspring will no longer have to ask for paid leave to take care of them because social workers will look after them. The welcoming atmosphere in retirement communities also has a beneficial impact on the elderly. Those aged people can enjoy a sense of community and neighbourliness because they are accompanied. For instance, in a modern family, working adults usually have to take a full-time job and work so late that they seldom have time to company their parents, while in a retirement community, old people can make friends with peers and therefore lead a happy life. In conclusion, today some of the elderly make their decision to live in retirement neighbourhoods rather than to live with their adult children and I believe that we can see more benefits in this.